Pittsburgh Artist Registry

Menu
Rachael Caskey
 

Rachael Caskey

Artistic Category Artist
Career Level Emerging
Experienced With Commissions

While I am not academically trained, I have been creating my entire life. Art is my passion. It's a never-ending fire in my belly to create something, anything. I recently left my full-time welfare caseworker position with the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in order to pursue my art full-time. It is a large leap of faith. I love trying new media and creative techniques. My current focus is on watercolor. My work has a folk art feel to it. 

I was born in Sacramento, California on the McClellan Air Force base to two young Air Force parents. Shortly thereafter, my parents divorced. My single father moved me at the age of one and my two-and-a-half-year-old sister to southwestern Pennsylvania to be raised by him, his sister and parents. Growing up with my paternal grandparents had some positive impacts on my life. My grandmother encouraged my love of art and drawing at an early age. Some of my best memories were creating paper hearts together. She had shared her poetry and love of fashion design with me. She had told me how she wanted to pursue fashion design, but family life intervened. As a mother myself, I want to show my sons that they can pursue their passions while simultaneously maintaining a family life. For me, art and crafts were intricately woven throughout the fabric of my life. I continued my art in high school, even finishing my final art project the very last day of my senior year. My Dad remarried in 1984 and my parents had three more children. Living in a low-income household with five children informed my parents view on careers. Thus, when I was ready to go to college, my parents discouraged me from pursuing art as they thought there was no money to be made. Dutifully, I chose more "practical" majors (Communication and French). My professional career became a slew of clerical jobs and a caseworker position. Meanwhile, my soul yearned for so much more! That's where you find me now. Starting over, at 40, to pursue my heart's passion.

Contact


Burgettstown, Pennsylvania 15021
412-403-5787
Email

Genres

  • Painting
  • Mixed-media
  • Illustration
  • Craft

Keywords

  • Acrylic
  • Americana
  • Collage
  • Expressionist
  • Paper
  • Watercolor